Artistic Direction

Quarryland Men’s Chorus is led by Artistic Director, Dr. Casey J. Hayes and Assistant Artistic Director, Mitch Serslev.

headshot of artistic director
Artistic Director
Dr. Casey J. Hayes
headshot of Assistant Artistic Director
Assistant Artistic Director
Mitch Serslev

Dr. Hayes brings a wealth of LGBTQ Choral Leadership to Quarryland, as a past Board Member of GALA Choruses, as well as former Musical Director of the New York City Gay Men’s Chorus, the Gay Men’s Chorus of Manhattan, and the Cincinnati Men’s Chorus. Casey is thrilled to be in Bloomington and to build a chorus that speaks to all members of our community. He can be reached at cjhayesqmc@gmail.com or 812-727-8149.

Mr. Serslev is a founding member of Quarryland and brings a rich musical background to the chorus.  He holds a Bachelor of Music from the University of Iowa and a Master of Music from the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University.


As a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, the Chorus is governed by a Board of Directors that works closely with the artistic director. Performing Members and Off-stage Members may serve on the Board in various capacities as executive voting members and committee chairs. The Board ensures that the Chorus’ operational, financial, and organizational needs are met. 

Current Board of Directors
President – Greg Voshell (2018-2021)
Vice-President – Lori Garraghty (2019-2022)
Secretary – Christian Bowling (2019-2022)
Treasurer – Lori Garraghty (2019-2022)
Past President – Andy Krieger
Barbara Dennis (2019-2022)
Michael DeNunzio (2019-2022)
Luiz Lopes (2017-2020)
Michael Seyller (2019-2022)

Ex officio
Artistic Director– Casey Hayes (2018-)
Assistant Artistic Director – Mitch Serslev (2007-2009, 2012-2013, 2016-)

Election to the board is open to all Performing and Off-stage Members. The Board of Directors meets once per month to discuss official Chorus business matters. Once per year, the board members and committee chairs convene for a retreat to review the past year’s accomplishments and plan for the upcoming season. Some committees meet on a regular basis, while others meet only a few times each year.

Committees, and their chairs, reporting to the Board of Directors include:

  • Board Development Committee, (chair vacant)
  • Community Engagement, Barbara Dennis
  • Finance Committee, Lori Garraghty
  • Marketing Committee, Michael DeNunzio
  • Membership, (chair vacant)
  • Revenue, (chair vacant)

Staff Positions
Accompanist – (vacant)

Other Leadership Volunteers
Chorus Manager – Luiz Lopes
Concert Manager – (vacant)
Concert Volunteer Coordinator – (vacant)
Chorus Connection – Robert Ping-Slater
GALA Festival Coordinator – Eric Metzler
Historian – Jim Johnson
Librarian – Barry Magee
Rainbow Circle Coordinator – Eric Metzler
Volunteer Coordinator – (vacant)
Wardrobe Coordinator – Marlin Howard

See our Get Involved page for more details about these positions.